Chicken with Dijon Sauce

Chicken with Dijon Sauce_Nourish Paleo Foods.comOne of my goals for 2013 is to start to meditate regularly. For many years, from many sources, I’ve heard how meditation can aid with health and happiness. So I want to find a way to work a few minutes of regular, quiet mindfulness into my life.

My attempts to add meditation into my morning routine were a failure. I jump out of bed as soon as my alarm goes off and don’t slow down until I get to work four hours later. Not even one time in the week I was on the morning mediation plan did I pause for a deep breath before I got to work.

Ditto with the “as soon as I walk in the door after work” approach. I thought maybe I could sit quietly for a few minutes after I changed my clothes but before I launched into evening activities. I abandoned that approach after one week in which I had a zero percent success rate.

Next, after brainstorming with my sister Lauren, I downloaded a well-reviewed guided meditation app and tried to use it on my 45 minute bus ride to and from Boulder. No luck. I either fell asleep (in the morning) or couldn’t relax (in the afternoon.)

For the past two weeks, I’ve been using the app and meditating right before bed. Actually, I’m doing it in bed in the dark so you could argue I am falling asleep rather than meditating but I’m going to take it for now. It’s very relaxing. But if you have any suggestions or tips on how you’ve worked meditation into your life, I’d love to hear them.

In return, I will share with you this delicious recipe.  Yowza!  It was really good.

I’m obsessed lately with these kinds of dishes that you can make quickly, taste amazing and make great leftovers for lunch the next day. I served this with Crispy Brussels Sprouts, drizzling some of the sauce over the sprouts as well.

A note on Dijon mustard – I read labels in the mustard section at Whole Foods until I found one that contained no sugar or ingredients I didn’t recognize. One day soon, I may branch out into making my own Dijon mustard.  Dana at Cavewoman Café makes it seem like a fun and easy thing to do.

Chicken with Dijon Sauce

Coconut oil, 2 tablespoons

Chicken breast cutlets, 4 (about a pound)

Shallots, 2, about ½ cup diced

Chicken broth , ½ cup

Coconut milk, ½ cup

Dijon mustard, 2 tablespoons

Salt and pepper, to taste

To garnish: Green onions

  1. Add 1 tablespoon of coconut oil to pan on stove over high heat. When oil has melted, place chicken in pan. Cook for about 4 minutes on each side or until done. Check for doneness by cutting into one or using a meat thermometer. Remove from pan and cover to keep warm.
  2. Reduce heat to medium. Add diced shallot and remaining tablespoon of coconut oil to pan over medium heat.  Saute until shallots are soft, about 3-4 minutes.
  3. Add chicken broth, coconut milk, Dijon mustard, salt and pepper to pan. Stir together until heated, about a minute or two.
  4. Add chicken back into pan to reheat and coat with sauce.
  5. Serve chicken (and any veggies you are serving) topped with sauce.  Garnish with chopped green onion, if desired. Enjoy!

16 thoughts on “Chicken with Dijon Sauce

  1. This looks really good! Just so you know, the Kroger brand Dijon mustard has no added sugars.
    Finding time to meditate would be awesome…keep up the good work!

  2. Oh, yum. I do something similar with a little honey added, but didn’t think of adding coco milk or topping with green onions – sounds fantastic!

  3. I tried this last night, and it was great! I made it for a few non-paleo friends, and didn’t tell them it was paleo. (You know, to take away any pre-judgement) and they were complimenting the chicken right from the start. Your recipes are simple enough, they’re not intimidating to try. Thanks, I will be making this again!

  4. I’d love to try this tonight but of course only have almond milk…think it’d be an ok sub for the coconut milk? Thanks!

    • I would probably make the sauce a little thinner and less creamy.

      I tend to be really liberal with substitutions so I would try it, just knowing that if it seems runny, that’s why!

      • Thanks for the quick reply! I went with the almond milk and it was great! Served it with bacon wrapped asparagus. Yum!

      • Jenna, That’s awesome to hear it turned out well!

        Thanks for following up and letting me know. That’s a great substitution for me to keep in mind for future reference!

Leave a comment